

Santa Clara County School Boards Association Legislative Action Committee

Silicon Valley is a unique region - a hub of innovation that brings with it immense wealth and immense disparity. The Santa Clara County School Boards Association represents trustees from 31 school districts in Santa Clara County, MetroED, and the Santa Clara County Office of Education. SCCSBA's Legislative Action Committee's mission is to advocate through resolutions, policies, and collective narratives for high expectations and applicable resources in public education for all of our students. Our advocacy includes building coalitions and increasing communication between districts, elected officials, municipalities, nonprofits, and community partners to meet our area's aspirational needs.

What does the Legislative Action Committee do? We...

- LISTEN: We listen to SCCSBA members from across our county to determine our legislative priorities. We listen to our legislators to better understand barriers and challenges to policy, as well as to partner on policy-making.
- ADVOCATE: We **advocate** for resources and solutions aligned with our membership's priorities. We highlight for legislators local district needs from across Santa Clara County to create compassion for our school communities.

COLLABORATE: We collaborate with legislators, including city, county, state, and federal elected officials and our membership, to empower and inform each as public education advocates.

The Legislative Action Committee regularly consults with the SCCSBA Executive Board and membership through an iterative feedback process.

Theresa Bond, LAC Chair (Voting Member) (Los Gatos-Saratoga Union HSD)
Chris Norwood, LAC Vice Chair (Voting Member) (Milpitas USD)
John Horner, LAC Secretary (Voting Member) (Morgan Hill USD)
Bridget Watson, Scheduler (Voting Member) (Sunnyvale SD)
Vladimir Ivanovic, LAC Member (Voting Member) (Los Altos SD)
Derek Grasty, LAC Member (Voting Member) (Mt. Pleasant SD)
Jose Magana, LAC Member (Voting Member) (San Jose USD)
Nancy Newkirk, LAC Member (Voting Member) (Sunnyvale SD)
Jorge Pacheco Jr., LAC Member (Voting Member) (Oak Grove SD)
Jessica Speiser, SCCSBA President (Non-Voting Member) (Los Altos SD)
Bonnie Mace, SCCSBA Executive Director (Non-Voting Member)(Ret. Evergreen SD)

Santa Clara County School Boards Association 1290 Ridder Park Drive, MC 202 | San Jose, CA 95131

execdirector@sccsba.org | www.sccoe.org/sccsba | Follow on Facebook: SCCSBA | Twitter: @SCCSBA